Three-tier structure - A Federal Government, 36 State Governments, 768 Local Government Administrations and 6 Area Councils of the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja.

Main Religions:

Traditional Beliefs, Christianity, Islam

Main Commercial/Industrial Cities:

Lagos, Onitsha, Kano, Ibadan, Port Harcourt, Aba, Maiduguri, Jos, Kaduna, Warri, Benin, Calabar

Major Industrial Complexes:

Refineries and Petro-Chemicals: Kaduna, Warri, Port Harcourt, Eleme. Iron and Steel: Ajaokuta, Warri, Oshogbo, Katsina, Jos. Fertilizer: Onne- Port Harcourt, Kaduna, Minna, Kano Liquified Natural Gas : Bonny Aluminium Smelter: Ikot Abasi, Port Harcourt

Main Ports:

Lagos (Apapa, Tin-can Island), Warri, Port Harcourt, Onne Deep Sea and Hub Port, Calabar (EPZ)

Main Airports:

Lagos, Kano, Port Harcourt, Abuja, Enugu, Kaduna, Maiduguri, Ilorin, Jos, Owerri, Calabar, Yola, Sokoto

Road Network:

Over 15,000 km of intercity all weather paved roads, including dual carriage express trunks.


2 main lines (South-West to North-East; South-East to North-West) inter-linked and terminatory at Lagos, Port Harcourt, Kaura Namoda, Maiduguri and Nguru. Major junctions at Kaduna, Kafanchan, Zaria. Gauge: 1067mm; Total length 3505 route km.


Hydro-electric: Kainji, Jebba, Shiroro. Thermal and Gas: Egbin (Lagos), Ughelli, Afam, Sapele, National grid for electricity distribution; National pipeline network with regional depots for petroleum products distribution; National network (pipeline) for distribution of gas (under construction).

Key data of Nigeria

Data Value
Region West Africa
Population 140,003,542 as at 2006, estimated by The National Population Commission (NPC)
Area Total: 923,770 km2
Area Land 910,770 km2
Coast Line 853 km
Capital Capital:Abuja
Climate Varies: equatorial in south, tropical in center, arid in north
Major English (official)
Languages Hausa
Currency 1 Naira (?) = 100 Kobo
National Day Independence Day, 1 October (1960)

Contact Us