Political Parties


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is the main agent of democracy in Nigeria. INEC is the permanent body created by the constitution to organise Federal and State elections in Nigeria.
In the last elections, 63 political parties participated and were expected to win at least one seat in the National Assembly or State Houses of Assembly or risk deregistration. Results of the elections showed that only 10 parties fulfilled the requirement. They include the People Democratic Party (PDP), Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Action Congress of Nigeria (CAN), All Nigeria People Party (ANPP), Labour Party (LP), Progressive People Alliance (PPA), Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Accord Party (AP), Democratic People Party (DPP) and KOWA Party.

The 30 Registered Political Parties of Nigeria from 2014-2016.

1 Accord A
2 Action Alliance AA
3 Advanced Congress Of Democrats ACD
4 Allied Congress Party of Nigeria ACPN
5 Alliance For Democracy AD
6   African Democratic Congress ACD
7   African Peoples Alliance APA
8 All Progressive Congress APC
9 All Progressives Grand Alliance APGA
10 Citizens Popular Party CPP
11 Democratic Peoples Congress DPC
12 Democratic Peoples Party DPP
13 Fresh Democratic Party FRESH
14   Hope Democratic Party HDP
15 Independent Democrats ID
16 Kowa Party KP
17 Labour Party LP
18 Mega Progressive Peoples Party MPPP
19 National Conscience Party NCP
20 New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP
21 People For Democratic Change PDC
22 Peoples Democratic Movement  PDM
23 Peoples Democratic Party PDP
24 Progressive Peoples Alliance PPA
25 Peoples Party of Nigeria PPN
26   Social Democratic Party SDP
27   United Democratic Party UDP
28 Unity Party of Nigeria      UPN
29 United Progressive Party UPP
30 Young Democratic Party YDP